logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
towpath tommy  
#1 Posted : 27 October 2010 16:26:38(UTC)
towpath tommy

Groups: Member
Man

Hello everyone.. As a newbie I may be asking a question that has been asked many times before but here goes.. Who does this impressive building belong to and what is happening to it? It seems such a shame for a building with so much potential to stand empty. Could it not be used for some waterways related service that served a purpose for local residents, boaters, walkers and sightseeers? As part of Whaley's History it would be good to see it it back in use wouldnt it? and perhaps the little road to the basin car park could also have its potholes filled in - they are an absolute devil in the dark - especially after rainfall.

Towpath Tommy ( Dave Peart ) thinks a day without laughter is a day wasted
JohnP  
#2 Posted : 27 October 2010 23:26:19(UTC)
JohnP

Man

The Trans-shipment Warehouse (aka the Transfer Shed) is a Grade 2* Listed Building. It is in the ownership of British Waterways.

In March 2008, Heritage Works Buildings Preservation Trust was commissioned by British Waterways to undertake a feasibility study for the vacant building and associated land at Whaley Bridge Canal Basin; please see: http://www.heritageworks.../whaleybridge/index.html
towpath tommy  
#3 Posted : 28 October 2010 00:10:46(UTC)
towpath tommy

Man

Hello everyone.. Thank you JohnP for your reply my first reaction is WOW - these look like very big plans indeed - it will be good to see the building put back in to sensible use.
Horwich Ender  
#4 Posted : 28 October 2010 17:21:24(UTC)
Horwich Ender

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)

Good afternoon Towpath Tommy and welcome to the forum.