logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Ste  
#1 Posted : 25 July 2011 23:10:32(UTC)
Ste

Groups: Member

Hi all,

As a potential resident, i've been lurking on the forum here to try to get a feel for what WB is like as a place to live, but I can't really get a good feel for it from the posts.

Hoping to get some feedback from residents.

Particular areas - what are the pubs like? Also, if anyone commutes to Manchester in the morning via train, how busy are the trains?

Or just anything of interest, good or bad.

I know it's a quiet town, which I like... but some activities would be nice!

Thanks!

RockBanker  
#2 Posted : 25 July 2011 23:51:42(UTC)
RockBanker

Man

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 4 post(s)

There is a great variety of pubs - I'm sure you would find several that you would enjoy calling your local. As for housing there is everthing from two-up two down terraced houses to large detached houses in stonking great gardens. Decent selection of local shops, including two butchers, greengrocers, bakers as well as a Tesco. Cant tell you about the trains - It's many years since I commuted by rail. Good number of community organisations if you are the joining -in kind. Good sense of community. Fantastic walking country on you doorstep - You do not need a car to do some classic peak district walks, visit a pub and be home for tea. Thriving art, music and cultural life in the area - nearby Buxton punches well over its weight in that respect, and if you need the big city fix Manchester is not too far away.

Lived in a fair few places in my time around the UK. None better than Whaley.

Rock "Yellow Alert" Banker

TheShallcrossCode@hotmail.co.uk
Lady Madonna  
#3 Posted : 26 July 2011 01:11:11(UTC)
Lady Madonna

Hi Ste, Firstly welcome to the Forum.