logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
parabuild  
#1 Posted : 21 April 2011 12:49:56(UTC)
parabuild

Groups: Member
Man

I have received the following e mail.  I wonder if any members can expand on this.

My name is Gordon Shipman, an expatriate Brit living in Israel. I am writing to you to share what may perhaps be a common interest. This concerns a Roman road near Alstonlee whose existence has never been confirmed, according to the literature I have perused.

I was a student at Manchester University in the mid-1970s, and spent much of my leisure time walking in the Goyt Valley area. On one of my walks, in the very hot summer of 1976, I took a footpath from Chapel en le Frith Station up in the direction of Alstonlee. I noticed, near Alstonlee I think it was, that the path was bordered by some very old-looking stone bollards entrenched in the hillside. I mention the hot summer, because I believe these structures must have been concealed over time, and were only uncovered as a result of the hot weather which would have dried up the surrounding vegetation. This discovery intrigued me, and I tried to research the matter in Manchester Central Library, where I found a book that mentioned the rumored existence of a Roman road in the vicinity. It occurred to me that the stone bollards I mentioned could have been part of such a road.

In the 35 years that have passed since then of course the existence of the road may well have been confirmed but if not, did I actually discover evidence of its existence?

In case you are wondering why I am contacting you at this stage, it is because I now have time on my times and am planning a trip to the area.

I hope my information may be of interest to you.

buggyite  
#2 Posted : 21 April 2011 13:29:03(UTC)
buggyite

Groups: Member
Man

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)