logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
margobo  
#1 Posted : 28 October 2010 19:18:26(UTC)
margobo

Groups: Member

Hi, I am new to this very interesting site. My great grandfather WILLIAM COTTRILL HIBBERT was born on 10 May 1860 at Lower Horwich, Whalley Bridge. Please could anyone tell me where this is?

shallcross  
#2 Posted : 28 October 2010 21:23:49(UTC)
shallcross

Hi Margobo

Welcome to the Whaley Forum

I will try and help you, but to pin point what you are looking for may be difficult.

In 1861 you have to think of Whaley Bridge split into two halves one side of the river Goyt in Cheshire (Taxal & Yeardsley) and the other side in Derbyshire (Fernilee) as it was Lower Horwich is an area rather than a specific property, the best way to try and explain is for you to look at a modern map of the area, Horwich End is stiil marked, this is the area around the road junction you can see from Buxton, Macclesfield & Chapel, Horwich End stretches to around about the Cock Hotel / Railway Bridge, above there you will find Old Road, above that is the area known as New Horwich (Cricket field) next to that on the map look for Bingswood and the Bings, Lower Horwich is the area below Bingswood & New Horwich on one side, Horwich End on the other and the River Goyt at the bottom,

I did note that your Ancestor had moved to Green Fairfield nr Buxton in 1871 and the family were then Farming, the opportunities for farming in Lower Horwich would have been  limited. 

Hope this helps

Shallcross
margobo  
#3 Posted : 29 October 2010 20:55:09(UTC)
margobo